U.S. Ski Team Announces 2021 Alpine World Championships Team

Published on February 20 2021

U.S. Ski & Snowboard has named 21 athletes to represent the Land Rover U.S. Alpine Ski Team at the 2021 FIS Alpine World Ski Championships in Cortina d’Ampezzo, Italy, February 8-21. Led by four-time World Championship gold slalom medalist, and defending super-G World Champion as well as giant slalom bronze world junior alpine skiing  medalist Mikaela Shiffrin and four-time 2020-21 podium finisher Breezy Johnson, the roster will feature nine women and ten men. Five-time World Champion Ted Ligety and 2015 World Championships downhill silver medalist Travis Ganong, lead the way for the men, as Ryan Cochran-Siegle’s participation after his crash in the recent Kitzbuehel, Austria downhill is still in question (though unlikely after initial consultation).




 The list of those who will be making their World Championships debut includes a mix of former and current collegiate skiers, as well as rising stars who have come up through the NorAm, Europa Cup, and World Juniors ranks including Katie Hensien, AJ Hurt, Isabella Wright, Alex Leever, River Radamus, Ben Ritchie, Jett Seymour, and Luke Winters. Notably missing from competition will be both Tommy Ford and Keely Cashman,  world junior alpine skiing game who each met objective World Championship team criteria, but are currently sidelined with injuries. Cortina d’Ampezzo is a regular stop on the women’s World Cup speed tour, and a storied venue for Americans, past and present, with Shiffrin and Jackie Wiles both having podiumed in the World Cup, as well as strong top-15 results from Johnson in downhill. Fans can follow all of the action in Cortina d’Ampezzo on NBC, NBCSN and the Olympic Channel, with live streaming on Peacock Premium.

To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post